Posted in Poetry

The Tragic Ballad of Little Muldoon

I and Kuhn and little Muldoon
down to Log Lake did wander
cool was the mud betwixt my toes
and the sneezer did tickle my nose

I and Kuhn and little Muldoon
to the water’s edge did we gander
the air we did sniff and persnuffled
the breeze how our fur it out truffled

I and Kuhn and little Muldoon
thinking back it raises my dander
there a floating log opened its eye
and snatched up Muldoon passing by

I and Kuhn without our Muldoon
ran back up the bank of the lander
I will never endeavor to swim
with the likes of a log such as him!

© Poem and Photograph by Jilly

Join us over at dVerse!  It's Spring !
In the voice of this little raccoon -
I happened to be there when he lost his sibling
to an enterprising gator at Circle B Bar Preserve near Lakeland, Florida.
Turns out that raccoons are into rhyme and meter - who knew. 
IMG_1624
23 thoughts on “The Tragic Ballad of Little Muldoon

  1. It must have seemed kind of scary as the gator ate Muldoon. Sure lets you know you’re not watching Animal Planet from a safe distance at home. I loved the rhyme scheme. It seems kind of Victorian, cool!

    Like

  2. This reminds me of the old nursery rhymes that sound so jovial despite the tragic endings. A wonderful cadence and I love the use of the word “persnuffled”.

    Like

Leave a Reply

