Posted in Poetry

A Dark and Stormy Knight

Frank has us working with tri-meter over at dVerse; please join us!  I have chosen to write a Bop – a fun form that I haven’t done for many months. It is 3 stanzas with a refrain after each.  There is no required meter or rhyme scheme for the Bop, although I impose Frank’s Tri-Meter here and add my own rhymes.  Three stanzas with 6 / 8 / 6 lines in which you present a problem in the 1st, expand or explore it in the 2nd, and resolve or reveal a failed attempt at resolution in the last stanza.

A dark and stormy knight
rode into town that day
in answer to a call
of anguished hearts dismay
upon his stead he rode
through mists the hooves explode

A foe to vanquish there

The villagers called out
the children hid and cried
there was no peace for they
saw courage there denied
a monster was at large
with terror in its fists
and so our knight was charged
with deeds of daring tryst

A foe to vanquish there

His eyes flashed bright with fire
as the foe came into view
to light a funeral fire
was not the course he chose
‘stead roses he did ply
the maiden did comply

The foe a wife he made

© Jilly’s  All Rights Reserved

I wrote & posted this very quickly – feel free to point out any errors you may see 🙂

 

Author:

A wild soul writing poetry & fiction while teaching high school literature, all with a camera in tow.

37 thoughts on “A Dark and Stormy Knight

  1. I like the Bop form. I think I’ll try some of my own. Nice narrative about the knight and the monster who undergoes a metamorphosis into the knight’s wife. Good use of trimeter to tell the story. I also like the first line replacing the expected “night” with “knight”.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Maria! The 28 days is kind of relaxed, so if you want to grab a line that inspires you during this coming week, please do! Some people hae gone back and done old ones. No rules; just poetry! Also, in July some really cool poets did a collaborative poetry challenge and we had so much fun with it that we are doing it again for August. It just opened this morning at https://jillys2016.wordpress.com/2017/08/04/casting-bricks-jillys-august-challenge/
      Would LOVE to have you join in 🙂

      Like

      1. If it’s not too much trouble, can I ask a shortcut from the teacher. is there a trick to identifying accentuated syllables when there are more than two syllables. I usually got away with pairing them in two and the longer one is accentuated but it’s getting heavy a hit. So if you have anything to help me and if it’s not much trouble!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. No trouble at all- my pleasure! This one is a tall order because there are no easy answers. The two keys are to look up a word in the dictionary if you aren’t certain of the stress placement. I do that often. The second one is to hear the word. Most on-line dictionaries have an audio so you can hear it, but you can also record your own voice and listen to Jeren. There are some rules in English but the large number of exceptions make it difficult. For example, most nouns have the stress on the 1st syllable; kitchen, coffee, August, Poem. However, umbrella and refrigerator don’t work that way. As a child I jumped rope to rhymes and that helps me as an adult poet, so consider walking with your sentence and say it aloud. Get the rhythm with your footsteps. If it makes you want to waltz rather than walk, it’s probably trimeter 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

  2. I wasn’t familiar with the Bop form but it works well with trimeter. I love a good story, Jill, especially one that begins with a ‘dark and stormy knight” I l also love the hooves exploding through mists and the echoing refrain.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ‘Kick-ass’ is the single best poetry compliment of my life! So, get on that horse and ride, my friend! Lights, camera, action! I like the Bop form because it lends itself to narrative. It is also what I have posted as my half-poem challenge for August Casting Bricks. Not much action in the first half, but….

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I haven’t heard of bop, but from your example it sounds fun! You ask about errors—I think you have a tense change at the end with ‘the maiden doth comply’, to my reading it should be past tense, did comply, but I might have got the wrong end of the stick.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The Bop is fun because you can dabble in the fictional narrative with it. I agree about the verb tense and I changed it. I wrote it that way to start with and then in a tired state felt like having ‘did’ two lines in a row was too much. Should trust my instincts. Thanks, Jane!

      Like

Leave a Reply

