Posted in 28 Days of Unreason, Poetry

Day 17 – Flood

The Harrison quote for day 17 of 28 Days of Unreason, taken from Songs of Unreason:

“Saw a poem float by just beneath the surface”  ~  Jim Harrison

My poem:

FLOOD

Rising, I took a broom
and began to sweep
clutter and debris
from the kitchen floor

Cares and concerns, moving
them toward the door
I slowed a bit as I passed
the bedroom’s posted
No-Wake Zone
dreams are still
hiding there

The junk accumulated
and rolled before
my sweeping strokes
as I moved more determinably
catching neglected repairs
an appointment or two

they tumbled and glittered
in a shaft of sunlight
a to-do list got caught
in a small eddy
near the corner
I saw it circling there
and with one deft movement
captured it
cajoled it into the flood
that I drove before me
and just before I reached
the open door
I saw a poem float by
just beneath the surface
leaning on my broom
I bent to pick it up
but it darted away
and then dove deepling

I returned
with some consternation
to my task of clean sweepling

© Jilly’s  All Rights Reserved

Today’s quote is my personal favorite of all 28, so much so that last year I planned it on my birthday as a gift to me!

Author:

A wild soul writing poetry & fiction while teaching high school literature, all with a camera in tow.

15 thoughts on “Day 17 – Flood

Leave a Reply

