Posted in 28 Days of Unreason, Poetry

Day Six – “The Violent Wind”

My head begins to explode as I go into the sixth day of Unreason, finding muse in the words of Jim Harrison looking down from the heights of reading Songs of Unreason. 

Here is today’s quote followed by my poem; again, I use the quote for my title:

“The violent wind. The violent wind. The violent wind.”  

~Jim Harrison

the violent wind bellowing
through my chest left
to right rips

You

from
me

a naked cavity
remains.

 

© Photo & Poem by Jilly  All Rights Reserved

Author:

A wild soul writing poetry & fiction while teaching high school literature, all with a camera in tow.

16 thoughts on “Day Six – “The Violent Wind”

      1. In comparing the poetry I wrote in May of 2016 based on Harrison’s lines to this year, the biggest difference is they are less wordy now. Perhaps I will eventually obtain the Haiku? 🙂
        I think that’s why I like forms; they keep me from rambling away.

        Like

      2. I tend to enjoy a bit of restraint. Sounds…funny, but you know what I mean 🙂 Free verse is fine but I think it’s hard to keep the verse part present. It’s very easy to jot down a lot of random thoughts in uneven lines and call it a poem. When mine come out like that, I look hard and usually decide they’re not really poems at all.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

