Posted in Mining for Lines Writing Prompts, Poetry, Six Word Saturday

Six Word Saturday #10

Deliberately Returning to Unreason with Harrison

 

Last spring I read Songs of Unreason by Jim Harrison.  The collection was a compelling read; so much so, that I went back through it and culled 28 lines as personal writing prompts.  Looking back, I realize it was one of the most fruitful times of poetry writing for me, and also one of the most satisfying.  While choosing NOT to read any of the poems I wrote in those days, I am returning to the 28 lines with a fresh eye.  (Hopefully, 14 months is enough time for me to forget what I wrote before.) Knowing that the best laid plans of mice and men often go awry (Burns), I plan to write and post daily for the next 28 days.  If you find a line worthy of a writing spark, feel free to join me!

Cheers!  Jilly

Author:

A wild soul writing poetry & fiction while teaching high school literature, all with a camera in tow.

9 thoughts on “Six Word Saturday #10

  1. Sounds good! Can’t wait to see what you do. I totally forgot today’s Saturday until I saw this post. Crazy week! I read something recently about capsule journal writing. Different than what you’ll be doing but I thought it was interesting. Basically, you ‘write one pithy sentence that captures whatever you want to remember/express from the past 24 hours. At the end of the week, you combine all of the sentences to create a poem. By the end of the year, you’ll have 52 poems’. I haven’t tried this yet but I thought it sounded fun, too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

