Posted in Poetry

‘Summer Tempo’ in 4/4 Time

I wrote this on Monday morning when I realized that there are only 3 weeks (3!!) remaining until I pack up my school bag and head back to work.  There is too much jazz left for summer to end this soon.  

i.

Kids go out the door
no tears for them
deny mine
Maynarding
screaming
flying full bore
into the endless arms of June
Prestissimo

ii.

Dizzying spin of days
nights of laughter
love sangria on ice
dancing on the sand
in the kitchen
Vivace
iii.

Fiery dynamite bright
lights the celebratory way
easing into a Blanchard
groove steady days stretch
fore and aft jazzing the sway

Bridge

iv.

No denying the entrance
Chet-smooth ignoring
truth that months become
weeks a subtle blues works
its way peripherally
into the score
Rallentando

v.

Mere Miles
to go a muted question
lingers in the cool
ignoring the answer
So What am I to do
with these remaining days
Adagio

 

© Jilly’s All Rights Reserved

Author:

A wild soul writing poetry & fiction while teaching high school literature, all with a camera in tow.

6 thoughts on “‘Summer Tempo’ in 4/4 Time

  1. A muse(ical) lament(?) on the too-quickly passing movements of summer. Great lead horns in amongst the lyrical stanzas. I really like the structure! Definitely one to play again and again!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is so fun, I love the use of names as verbs and adjectives (I think, my grammar is mainly intuitive) Maynarding! Dizzying! Among other lines “lingers in the cool” And the musical cues are awesome. I just started getting into jazz this past year and I love it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

