Posted in Poetry

Mirror, Mirror, Who Am I?

Collaborating with Victoria Slotto is a most satisfying experience and a tremendous honor.  Her tercets in Who Am I, You Ask made me feel right at home with its iambic meter.  Here, then, is my completion of her July Challenge.  

I am the tiny finch who fills the air with song at dawn. 
I am the bronze of sun on snow-capped hills. 
I am the play of wind upon the leafy ash. 

I am the ocean’s waves caressing sand and shells. 
I am the youthful fool—reckless, full of joy. 
I am the ache of old ones shuttered in the dark. 

I am the healing for the ancients breaking down the glass. 
I am the wisdom found in children – secreting the glee. 
I am the torrent deep who shapes the distant shores and sky. 

I am the wicked gale that tears the fertile blooms. 
I am the cresting dawn on valleys warm and lush. 
I am the eagle strong who silences the song. 

Collaborative Poetry Victoria Slotto / Jill Lyman

 

Author:

A wild soul writing poetry & fiction while teaching high school literature, all with a camera in tow.

9 thoughts on “Mirror, Mirror, Who Am I?

      1. That’s my hubby. He took this at our winter abode in Palm Desert, CA. We have great birds, if only they didn’t poop on our patio. :0) In case you noticed.We moved the feeder to a sheltered area outside the dining room where there is just garden. Also protects them from the hawks.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Send him my compliments on that shot. When I was a kid in Michigan my parents took down our feeder after the Snowy Owl showed up. Didn’t want them to be sitting ducks, so to speak.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

