Posted in Poetry

Dance the Moon

A Solstice Villanelle


Dance the moon, twirl it in your naked arms,
wild beneath the dark, light your soul aflame,
rejoice the night, embrace her raging charms.

Weave among the trees of ancient farms,
cast off restraint and call the orchard’s name;
dance the moon, twirl it in your naked arms

Press deep the grapes and drink you of sauternes,
let morning care for all her waking shame,
rejoice the night, embrace her raging charms

The Fury’s night runs heedless of alarms,
the solstice reel is savage, shan’t be tamed,
dance the moon, twirl it in your naked arms.

Let frenzy pour a cup your heart to warm,
spark high your heels to join you in this game,
rejoice the night, embrace her raging charms

Rush full at Sol’s bright apex to disarm,
give back to Pan the rave that is his fame,
dance the moon, twirl it in your naked arms,
rejoice the night, embrace her raging charms.


© Jilly's Words & Photo
All Rights Reserved

Join us at dVerse where we write villanelles today!
Author:

A wild soul writing poetry & fiction while teaching high school literature, all with a camera in tow.

47 thoughts on “Dance the Moon

  1. “dance the moon, twirl it in your naked arms,
    rejoice the night, embrace her raging charms.”

    Truly wild and in keeping with the wildness that happens on this day and eve. Your villanelle is strongly worded and strongly reminiscent of the songs that accompanied the pagan celebrations.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Nice moon dancing and embracing the night’s charms. The third line from the end has this “that it his fame”. Perhaps this should be “that is his fame”, unless I’m misreading it? Nice villanelle. I find these hard to write and yours sounds very nice.

    Like

  3. A beautiful villanelle. Yours too, I noted, was a nocturne. But not one of longing, one of dancing free, living with the moon and her ebb and flow. Yours so much more joyous. I found this poem fulfilling in every sense. Lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is perfect time for wild moon dance. The poem is an absolute wonder. Though I don’t know why I feel a four measure verse would make the dance wilder. “dance the moon, twirl it in your naked arms, / rejoice the night, embrace her raging charms” every word spills beauty..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Interesting thought on the meter and it’s impact on the dance. I think the coming together of the meter in the hearts of the dancers gives a mod-mentality kind of frenzy. Love it! You made me think harder about the whole scene. 🙂

      Like

    1. Oh, I do hope you will give it a try! I use a template to help me. (Google images for Villanelle Template). Funny story: I teach high school and in teaching forms I once told a group of 10th graders that they had to write in a form giving them a handful to choose from, with sonnet being the most challenging. I told them I had a harder form than that but didn’t think they would want to try it. If you want to give it a shot stop by my desk for the instructions. About 5 lined up and took the challenge. No psychology there! It was also my first time to write a villanelle and we did it together.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You know what, Jilly? After half a round of reading, I’m so floored by the masterpieces I believe I should have called mine nothing more than a mock-villanelle! As you said, it’s a spark, nothing more. Or, in Chinese, we would say that I was tossing bricks to tease the jade out of the masters! Glad you all enjoyed it. I sure did — though a bit more sheepishly than you think. Ha!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. So I had to look up the idiom of tossing bricks and discovered it has its roots in poetry. (Imagine that!) But that got me thinking it might be a fun challenge to write tandem poetry.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. That’s a brilliant idea, Jilly. Any idea you’ve come up with? Great on you to check out the idiom. Its origin is also new to me: I looked it up only after you said you did. 🙂

        Like

      4. Well, at the moment, I’m just casting bricks to attract jade, but I was thinking about a July challenge since dVerse usually takes a break. Perhaps, in keeping with the original story we write half a poem and then challenge someone else to finish it. Or, a version of the Somonka might work. Any Jade you have to contribute would be most welcome!

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Interesting idea! Never did any Somonka. It reminds me of duelling couplets amongst traditional Chinese, in which the challenger(s) have to match the host’s given line to form a complete couplet. Each word has to match its counterpart in lexical category (often running either parallel or opposite in meanings) and tones (the poetic equivalent to metres, only that in Chinese tones are matched opposingly). Ours operate on a different linguistic logic, with words being monosyllabic and equally stressed. Not quite the same as the elegiac couplets … But, has duelling/tandem been done with such forms in the west likewise? Consider mine just another piece of brick!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

