Posted in Photos, Poetry

Morning Dialogue with Self

Rise early with the descending fog
pour a cup of regret
discussing yesterday with yourself
while your hopes for love cleave to the shelf.

Whose hands are these, wringing lest they forget
holding, leveling charges against thyself
pointing fingers of creeping blame
grasping, fearing you’ll do the same

thing again with the rising of the sun’s bitter wealth?
streaming, even now, through the fettered window pane
Oh, foolish, foolish child am I
to think that I could change, decry

the pointing fingers of creeping blame
discussing yesterday with yourself.
Set the needle back, play that song and fret
another rising sun, another dialogue.

© Photo & Poem by Jilly
All Rights Reserved

B3elle Poetic Form
Thanks to Charley at Life in Portofino for this form!

It's Open Link Night over at dVerse and I find myself working 
in a poetic voice that is not my own, lest anyone think
this reflects Jilly in any way. Just working with form and
mood :)
Author:

A wild soul writing poetry & fiction while teaching high school literature, all with a camera in tow.

34 thoughts on “Morning Dialogue with Self

  1. You did this more effectively than I… but I’ll keep trying! Thank you for not laughing it off.

    “Whose hands are these, wringing lest they forget
    holding, leveling charges against thyself
    pointing fingers of creeping blame
    grasping….”

    Awesome imagery… and the photo works with them very well!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Nan, I am all about the poetics and I just wanted my kind dVerse readers to know it’s not a personal statement. I’m not depressed or wallowing in regret. It’s a disclaimer. Glad you stopped by!

      Like

    1. Oh dear, and you have been exposed to the germ! There is no antidote except to write one yourself 🙂 Actually, Charley wrote his poem more complicated than his form calls for; I took the easy way out. Thanks for reading!

      Like

  2. I love the melancholy in this, Jilly:
    ‘Rise early with the descending fog
    pour a cup of regret
    discussing yesterday with yourself
    while your hopes for love cleave to the shelf’.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you; I’m glad you stopped by to read. I see that you have visited with the man behind the form, so I’ll just say that, for me the beauty of form poetry is that it requires me to be intentional with every word and syllable. I’ve been working on Pantouns lately and this little creation by Charley feels like training-wheels for that most demanding form. Nice to see you dropping by the Pub, Gay!

      Like

      1. Yes. I agree about form. When we started the site that originally was OneStopPoetry and morphed into dverse, I was in charge of Form articles. They’re still up, I imagine. I know I wrote the first one on pantoums and many others. I had 3 guest poets author the articles on sonnets. They’re worth reading for sure. It’s one of things I’m most grateful for that dverse is still open for business. All our early hard work is still up on the site. Thanks.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. So glad this is not “your voice”, Jilly. Sadly though…this is what people do. It’s called ruminating…stuck in the past, the what-ifs, the regrets. You taken on the voice beautifully —

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

