Posted in Poetry

Passion

On Thursday we added a Passion Flower to our garden – my favorite among plants.  She has submitted to countless photos, a Six-Word Saturday and now, this.  Tonight we are writing Haibuns over at dVerse and Bjorn challenges us to write about the theme of Sport.  Please join us!

Tightly coiled sinews, muscles grumbling, demanding the tap, turned to almost skin-reddening hot, loosens, cajoles, body-sighing curative from a knotted night, giving way to those oldest of friends; Leotard, Mat, Jungle Music; growlingly good salute to the sun that warms to a warrior reaching for that wrung just above my highest leaf, tendril-finger pointing trellis ward, buds opening to the dazzle of the sun, drinking rain, embracing another day of peace. Namaste.

Solitary stretch

competing with none, yoga

Passion Flower strong
IMG_1795

 

 

 

 

 

 

© Photo & Words by Jilly

Author:

A wild soul writing poetry & fiction while teaching high school literature, all with a camera in tow.

33 thoughts on “Passion

  1. Ah….and I shall be doing my morning yoga as soon as I finish my reading. As our Aunt Flo used to say, “Use it or lose it.” I find stretching a necessity as I get older…muscles get crankier unless used. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jilly, this is so wonderfully expressed in sensory detail. Yesterday I spent the better part of the day planting some annuals in our garden and, oh, I’m feeling what you describe. I have been toying with taking up yoga for years. I know it is what I need for this aging body. Maybe you will be the inspiration I need.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad you stopped by, Victoria! The vine is one that seems to grow right before your eyes. In fact, I think it crept out of it’s pot in the back seat of the car and tapped my husband on the should before we could get it home. Saucy thing! 🙂 I hope you really do decide to give yoga a try; 20 minutes of yoga is like 8 hours of good sleep – it is revitalizing! And it makes weeding the garden so much easier 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

