Posted in Poetry

Please Listen To Me

Please listen to me
I have a story to tell
it is my treasure
I’m sure you want to hear it
please listen to me tell it

     Does not interest me
     I am thinking of my own
     story preparing
     my words it is my treasure
     I’m sure you want to hear it

is about my world
where I am the sun and you
are waiting to hear
my every word for I am
infinitely brilliant to

     Listen to me be
     enraptured by my tale of 
     woe of joy of my
     treasured daily minutiae
     please listen to me tell it


© Jilly's

NaPoWriMo encourages us to write a 
back-and-forth correspondence.
I chose to write a back-and-forth conversation.
Author:

A wild soul writing poetry & fiction while teaching high school literature, all with a camera in tow.

3 thoughts on “Please Listen To Me

  1. Sounds like a typical conversation, human tendency to want to be heard but not listen. I love the third stanza, ‘where I am the sun and you are waiting to hear my every word.’ just the self-centred attitude you’ve captured in three lines! Also the way the lines break off as if they’re interrupting each other. Great poem.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t know where I’ve heard it before, but this reminds me of how we’re not really listening, but only waiting for our turn to speak. I know lots of people like that. And, okay, I’m sure I’m guilty of it, too. 🙂 Of course there are those who don’t bother to wait, they just interrupt as the line breaks show.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

