Posted in Photos, Poetry

In a Windowless Room

The wild within my breast it calls me out
The scent of green upon the breeze I smell
Yet chained within these walls unto a cell
The toil of days have left me in deep drought
These primal urges long to run about
Up to the church door pull upon the bell
Ring out the knell release me from this hell
Announce it from the hills declare with shout

Barefoot runs my soul and leaps the wall
When work is done and time is but my own
Tumble down the hills rolling bouncing stone
Glee of angels sending a verdant call
Into Earth’s bright arms of welcome fall
For those brief hours my heart has found its home.

© Jilly's Poem & Photo 4/14/2017
Author:

A wild soul writing poetry & fiction while teaching high school literature, all with a camera in tow.

7 thoughts on “In a Windowless Room

  1. I love the way you have used the form. “Up to the church door pull upon the bell/
    Ring out the knell release me from this hell/Announce it from the hills declare with shout/Barefoot runs my soul and leaps the wall.” Here is the shift of the poem… the voice goes from inmate to freed spirit. The voice of anguish becomes the voice placated. Wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

