Posted in Photos, Poetry

A Serendipitous Match

NaPoWriMo Day 7 
write a poem about luck and fortuitousness


“Roses kept in
  captivity; their eyes
   staring out through the glass.”
~cbl

Padding
   barefoot down the stairs
   one perfect
   cup of coffee in my
   mind

Stirring
   milk and sugar
   last week’s fading roses
   catch my eye, a prism
   cast upon the wall from a beam
   of sun on its journey through
   the vase

There
   a pad of paper shows
   your perfect uncareful hand
   an early morning moment dashed
   for me to find

A gift
   one perfect line to stand
   beside my cup of coffee
   as the day expands
   before me

Smiling
   I pick up the pen you held
   a short hour before
   consider my good fortune at
   being mated to a poet’s soul who
   knows this poet’s soul
© Poem & Photo by Jilly

Dedicated to my Charley, soul-mate and fellow poet.   
6 thoughts on “A Serendipitous Match

  1. Just something that caught my eye. I like the offset of lines that seem to form their own poem yet everything ties together seamlessly. A poet’s soul mated to another poet’s soul, that is luck.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

