Posted in Poetry

A Brief History of Silly Jilly

At four years old
Bow wow, meow
My nursery
With colors bold
Rhymes to be told
Committed there
To memory
At four years old

In kindie gard
My daddy fair
Produced a game
And with a dare
By rote I learned
St Nicholas
His journey told
To one and all
And to this day
Will give display

In days of old
Fourth grade, I’m told
A bird came down
The walk one day
A book of rhyme
Under her wing
With flies that buzz
A lilting thing
For death was not
Reality
There was no fear
At nine years old

Forgiveness from
Mine Emily
Am conquered by
A Carroll free
The Jabberwock
Hast come for me
It claims my tongue
For to proclaim
And takes its place
Within this brain
Beside the rhymes
Beneath the tree
With sugar plums
To dance with me

A gleam have I
For any near
To grab a floor
To have a hear
For meter holds
Mine own dear ear
A spell is cast
Upon my lines
Gives birth to mine
Own nursery rhymes!

© Jilly’s 2016

With a nod to Mother Goose for the photo!

We are creating mood with meter over at dVerse 
(Be still my little beating metered heart!)
Come join us there, a poem to share!
 Oh no! A monster here has been unleashed!
Author:

A wild soul writing poetry & fiction while teaching high school literature, all with a camera in tow.

24 thoughts on “A Brief History of Silly Jilly

Leave a Reply

