Posted in Poetry

Remaining in the Air

The martins returned the day I was born

the house was not up

what with the flurry of birthing

they swooped through my soul

planting wing seeds

to sprout and grow

bursting forth with my first sentence

‘There’s a birdie!’

holding me aloft for

hundreds of thousands of moments

 

The only tracks I leave is the wake

that flows past me in the still purple air

© Jilly’s 2016

Day 9

28 Days of Unreason

“I love the tracks left by hundreds of species of birds 
that remain in the air like we do”

3 thoughts on “Remaining in the Air

  1. they swooped through my soul
    planting wing seeds
    to sprout and grow

    Wow! Simply stunning visual that is beyond visual! Cool story written with great precision and clarity.

    Like

Leave a Reply

