Posted in Poetry

Introduction to Love

A Golden Shovel

I ask them to take a poem  

and hold it up to the light  

like a color slide

From Introduction to Poetry

By Billy Collins

http://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems-and-poets/poems/detail/46712

 

I called you my ‘gym boyfriend’ because I

Met you when I was working at the gym and you wouldn’t ask

Me out or even let me know you were interested but you let them

Know, the people I worked with and the other members who go to

The gym.  They knew and told me, “He wants to take

You out” and I said you never even spoke to me except when you gave me a

Membership card to swipe.  There was no flower or poem

Or warm conversation in you and

 

I have a dog who never greets me when I come home and want to hold

Her and scratch her ears and tell her she is cute.  It

Makes me crazy that she doesn’t get up

Off the sofa and greet me or come to

See me after hours of being apart at the

End of a shift.   Light

 

Though my reaction is, I am hurt, like

A wounded puppy with a

Pout that gives color

To your game of playing it cool and letting my emotions slide.

© Jilly’s 2016

Author:

A wild soul writing poetry & fiction while teaching high school literature, all with a camera in tow.

19 thoughts on “Introduction to Love

  1. LOVE this, Jilly! What a fabulous use of the form.
    This is my favorite:
    “I am hurt, like

    A wounded puppy with a

    Pout that gives color

    To your game of playing it cool”

    Like

      1. I love it too, and don’t play with it enough. It’s one I need to remember to come back to on “stuck” days. What could be better than being inspired by some of the greats? 🙂

        Like

      1. What kind of dog is it? My little cock-a-poo is the exact opposite. He goes nuts when I get home, jumping on me and running back and forth. And when I leave I have to start the car quickly to avoid hearing him cry because I’ve left.

        Like

      2. Mine is a schnoodle – usually they do the same thing. She is certainly the smartest dog I have ever met, and I’ve had several smart ones. It makes it easier to go away knowing that she is pretty cool with it. That’s called ‘spin’ 🙂 (Kinda wanted what you have…)

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I really enjoyed this. There is something so approachable in your use of a day-by-day situation presented in everyday conversational language.

    Like

Leave a Reply

