Posted in Poetry

Stages of the Sun

My dog lay sleeping beside me

face twitching

paws gesturing to me

so I joined her

ran barking

skipping past the pond

into the trees

heard my distant howl

heedless of all;

grey squirrel

the opossum’s trail

stages of the sun

crossing the sky.

© Jilly’s 2016

Combining dVerse Quadrille Prompt (Skip to My Lou)

& Day 1 of 28 Days of Unreason Prompt

“In this world of dreams don’t let the clock cut up your life in pieces.”

~ Harrison

31 thoughts on “Stages of the Sun

  1. Oh this is a joy. Thank you for responding to the prompt. How wondrous to join your furbaby in dreams. I often would join my cat – “heedless of all”….what unadulterated joy.

    Like

  2. Delightful. Would that we could join our furry friends in their dreams. My girl is gone now, but she still joins me in my dreams now and then.

    Like

    1. Thanks Patti! I just came from your poem and, having trouble with being identified, couldn’t leave a comment. So… Marvelous nursery rhyme feel to your poem! Of course, it plays to an adult audience… 🙂 Love it! Jilly

      Like

  3. What a great perspective, to join your dog in his dreams…so sweet. I would often marvel at our Sheltie’s twitching and paw movements…chasing after who knows what?
    Gayle ~

    Like

    1. Thanks for the kind words! I had a glimpse into her dreams after she was the one who spotted the cottonmouth in our yard. She twitched more than normal for weeks! 🙂

      Like

  4. Oh I remember when we had our dogs — German Shepherds for many years and then we went to standard poodles. They always slept beside our bed….and I remember exactly those twitching paws — like they were running in their dreams. And then to go to the fantastical move of joining them in their dreams???? LOVE this! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

