Posted in Food!

The Shrimp & Grits Blues

Now, I know what you’re going to say, but just hear me out.  I love traditional Shrimp & Grits – really, I do!  But, the first time I ever had blue cheese grits, well, I just wept right there in that high –class seafood joint in Columbia, SC.  I never looked back.  This recipe was birthed from that emotionally laden moment.

Grits are a philosophy.  In my poem The Bends (posted today) I mention Pat Conroy, who was a foodie extraordinaire and he would blanch at quick grits.

½ cup yellow grits (the quick kind, like I said)

2 cups chicken broth

This is an art, like Cream of Wheat.  Bring the broth to a boil, then s-l-o-w-l-y add the grits, stirring constantly.  Turn the heat way down to low and let those little grits simmer for about 5 minutes.

1 oz. blue cheese, crumbled (Use something good, okay?)

1 oz. cheddar cheese, shredded (Again, spring for it!)

¼ pound bacon, cooked crisp and crumbled

1 pound shrimp, grilled

Once the grits are done, stir in the cheeses until they are melted and blended.

The bacon and shrimp go in at the very end.  If you put the bacon in too soon, it will become all UNcrisp – not cool!

If you like some zing, dust those shrimp babies with Old Bay or Zataran’s while they are grilling.  You can also add a bit of that to the grits if y’all want to.

Let me know!  Cheers!  Jilly

© Jilly’s 2016

Author:

A wild soul writing poetry & fiction while teaching high school literature, all with a camera in tow.

4 thoughts on “The Shrimp & Grits Blues

    1. hmmm – interesting dilemma. True dairy allergy? Lactose intolerant? Cow’s milk? Options: Blue is low in lactose or there is goat cheese (my personal weakness.) Otherwise, skip the cheese and just do the bacon. Instead of shrimp, crawfish or crab? Let me know if you try it in any version! Jilly

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Allergy to whey and casein, so goat cheese would work. And actually the shrimp sounded good this way even though it’s not usually my favorite.

        We are actually having grits tonight worn whole kernel corn and honey, but I’ll will likely try your recipe soon.

        Like

Leave a Reply

